The State of Tennessee has no-fault Auto Liability Insurance Laws. In this system a driver's own insurance covers injuries which he or she may have sustained. His or her insurer would therefore be liable. Moreover, the person at fault is required to cover any damages suffered by a person who has been involved in a motor vehicle accident. This is so up to the amount of the policyholder's insurance limits.
Tennessee law requires that each motorist carry $25,000 in coverage for each injury or death per accident and $50,000 for total injuries in any single accident. Every motorist is also required to carry $15,000 in property damage coverage for each accident in which the driver is involved. This means if a driver who purchases a policy with these minimum amounts of coverage is in an accident in which one person is injured, then that person can recover up to $25,000 from the at fault motorist’s insurer to cover treatment related to injuries up to $25,000. If two people are injured, then the insurer will pay up to $25,000 to each, not to exceed a total of $50,000 for both.
If you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist, your insurance policy may have coverage for this. You always have the right to sue the uninsured or underinsured motorist; however, it would be wise to have a private detective do a background check to see if he or she has any assets to attach.
Should you have any questions, call (423) 424-6208 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.