DUI in Tennessee


01 Jan

Tennessee is a state which looks at your blood alcohol lever in making a determination as to whether you were intoxicated when arrested.  You are considered intoxicated if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.08 or above.  If you are at 2.0 or higher, penalties can be enhanced.

The penalty for a first time DUI is a fine, DUI school and 48 hours of jail time.  In some counties, you are given the option to obtain an ignition interlock device, so that you can drive.  In other counties, that is not an option.  Generally speaking, you will pay about $120 per month for the device for a year.

A second DUI requires a minimum of 45 days in jail, and a fine from $500 to $3500.

If you commit a third DUI, then there is a minimum of 120 days in prison.  The fine runs from $1,000 to $10,000.  You cannot get a restricted license.

Should you have any questions, call us at (423) 424-6208 or email at kjoneslawyers@gmail.com


Comments
* The email will not be published on the website.