If a person is not authorized to use a credit or debit card; however, they use it anyway, then it is credit card fraud. In the State of Tennessee, Tenn. Code Ann. Section 39-14-118 prohibits having and using a credit or debit card that you aren't authorized to use, knowingly possessing a credit or debit card without the consent of the owner, and/or using or allowing another to use a credit or debit card, with fraudulent intent, to buy things, knowing that it is forged, stolen, revoked, cancelled or expired.
If nothing is purchased with the unauthorized possession of the card, it is a class A misdemeanor. or if the value of the property or services is $500 or less, then it is a Class A misdemeanor. If the value purchased is from $500 to $1000, then it is a Class E felony. If the valuie is $1,000 to $10,000, it is a Class D felony. If what received is from $10,000 to $60,000, then it is a Class C felony. If the value is greater than $60,000, then it is a class B felony.
The various classes of misdemeanors and felonies for credit card fraud in Tennessee can be penalized by:
Should you have any questions, contact us at either email@example.com or (423) 424-6208.